What is the Midwest Student Exchange Program?

MHEC is the Midwest Student Exchange Program, which started in 1994, is a multi-state tuition reciprocity program. Over 140 colleges and universities in Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Wisconsin and North Dakota participate.
MHEC is a voluntary program. Iowa, South Dakota and Ohio do not participate at this time.

How it works

Through the MSEP, public institutions agree to charge students no more than 150% of the in-state resident tuition rate for specific programs; private institutions offer a 10% reduction on their tuition rates. You must be enrolling as a non-resident student at a participating MSEP campus to receive the discount.
Actual savings through the program will vary from institution to institution depending upon the tuition rates. Participating students will typically realize savings between $500 and $3,000 annually.